Chemistry Nobel Prize Honors Three Scientists Who Developed Lithium-Ion Batteries

Posted on Categories Discover Magazine

(Credit: Abigail Malate, Staff Illustrator. Copyright American Institute of Physics)

(Inside Science) — The 2019 Nobel Prize in chemistry has been awarded to three scientists “for the development of lithium-ion batteries.”

The prize goes jointly to John B. Goodenough of the University of Texas at Austin, M. Stanley Whittingham of Binghamton University in New York, and Akira Yoshino, of Meijo University in Nagoya, Japan.

At 97, Goodenough will be the oldest Nobel laureate ever awar

Leave a Reply